Performance problem with VirtualBox

I spent a good few hours trying to squeeze some extra performance out of our Vagrant / VirtualBox Development environments.

I was benchmarking different OSs, and virtual hardware configurations.

My guest OS is ubuntu 11. I was experimenting with adding virtual CPUs and suddenly noticed a massive network performance degradation. It seems changing the network adapter to Paravirtualized Network (virtio-net) wasn’t a good idea. Even the Intel PRO/1000 nics were problematic.

Best performance (with multiple CPUs) was PCnet-FAST III (Am79C973).

Hope this helps someone.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Performance problem with VirtualBox

  1. Benjamin

    Had the same Problem, here is the thread in the virtualbox forum I started:

    https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=52402&p=239864#p239864

  2. Petros

    Hi David,

    I am looking into network performance issues related to FreeBSD/VirtualBox.

    While it fits in the overall picture (most of my stuff is running in FreeBSD jails on cloned ZFS – works very well without running “kernel on kernel” – comparable to Docker containers) I may ditch it in favour of other solutions because I have to accommodate 3 Linux and 1 Windows 2012 R2 VMs (proprietary stuff).

    I only had one Linux box until recently and VirtualBox on FreeBSD was ”
    good enough” for it. I am not suree about the new VMs yet.

    I am looking for performance tests and results comparing various possible solutions (Oracle VM, VMware or CentOS+KVM) to what I have.

    Do you know any?

    Regards
    Peter

Leave a Reply

